Expressions of Interest for Trustee

Expressions of Interest for Trustee

Close: 5pm Friday 15 December 2017

Trustees of the Community Trust of Southland (CTOS) are responsible for an investment fund of approximately $228 million and distributing income generated from the fund, to benefit the communities of Southland, Wakatipu Basin, Tapanui, and Heriot.

The present Trustees are:

  • Margot Hishon, Winton
  • Lindsay Wright, Wendonside  
  • Trish Boyle, Invercargill          
  • John Wyeth, Riverton
  • Mata Cherrington, Bluff   
  • Ross Jackson, Invercargill
  • Stephen O'Connor, Invercargill 
  • Penny Simmonds, Woodlands
  • Warren Skerrett, Queenstown
  • Richard Wason, Te Anau    

On 31st May 2018 Ross Jackson will complete his first term as Trustee and is available for reappointment.

The Minister of Finance is charged with the responsibility of appointing Trustees. The Minister invites CTOS to put forward nominations of suitable people to be considered for appointment as a Trustee. As well as seeking nominations from CTOS, the Minister can also receive nominations directly from any other interested party.

To assist the Minister to identify suitable people for possible consideration, expressions of interest on a confidential basis are welcomed from members of the CTOS region.

In making appointments the Minister takes into consideration several factors, including:


  • Balance of skills and financial expertise required by CTOS
  • Gender and ethnic representation of CTOS
  • Conflicts of interest (if any)
  • Geographic spread of Trustees
  • Knowledge of the community


All expressions of interest remain confidential to CTOS, and will be sent to the Minister of Finance for consideration.

Information packs, including an Expression of Interest form, outline of the role and responsibilities of a Trustee are available from CTOS office or by phone 0800 500 185 or email

Submitting An Expression of Interest

Expression of Interest forms should be returned by 5pm Friday 15 December 2017 and should be sent to:

  • Post: Denis Woods, Interim GM, Community Trust of Southland, PO Box 1646 Invercargill 9840, or
  • Email: